Built in 1319, the Chapel of the Dominican Sisters has undergone several changes over the centuries, the most recent major restoration beginning in 1972 and concluding in 1975. Its rich heritage and the tranquillity of the location place invite discovery and contemplation.
Situated not many metres from the Dominican Sisters' Gate – the southern entrance to the town – the chapel harbours a number of little treasures, amongst them Raymond Mirande's tabernacle, ancient stained glass windows blending with the modern one created by Bernard Schorderet in the 1970s, and Jean-Pierre Demierre's ambo. The highlight of the patrimony, however, is a triptych (three hinged panels that can be folded shut): Estavayer's famous reredos was created by Hans Geiler, a celebrated artist of the region, in 1521. In spite of the long history evinced by these works, the chapel remains a living place of worship, as witnessed by the daily presence of the sisters, who come to pray in the midst of the ancient stones (blue and yellow Molière shell sandstone and Hauterive limestone) constituting the church, the altar and the tabernacle.
The chapel is open all year round between 6.30 a.m. and 9 p.m. However please note the times of services, during which visits are not possible: 6.30-8 a.m., 11.40 a.m.-12.15 p.m., 5.30-7 p.m.
Parking: "blue zone" parking (2 hours) in la Chaussée 50 metres away.
Accessible by public transport: yes, to Estavayer-le-Lac railway station then a 10-minute walk
Accessible by car: yes